The Colleges

The College of Arts and Sciences

The College of Arts and SciencesThe College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) engages undergraduate students in over 50 majors, minors, and certificate programs, as well as two masters’ degrees and a doctorate in Clinical Psychology. Close student-faculty relationships help students discover and develop their talents. A dedicated faculty of scholar-teachers lead students toward achieving excellence both in their chosen field and in an enlightened life of service. Each undergraduate major offers a hands-on or research capstone project, and the January interterm offers an intensive learning experience that permits local, national, and international study opportunities. The Psy.D. program is accredited by the American Psychological Association and its faculty are known nationally for their research and publications.

The College of Business & Public Management

The College of Business & Public Management (CBPM) includes undergraduate programs in business, public administration, and health management as well as masters’ degrees in business, organizational leadership, health, and public administration (NASPAA accredited) and a doctoral degree in public administration (D.P.A.). The CBPM offers a broad-based management education that emphasizes the application of theory to management practice and builds the conceptual skills and core values its students need to become effective leaders and managers in business and public management. Its years of providing pertinent curriculum focusing on effective decision making and stressing the knowledge relevant in today’s challenging global environment has earned the college an excellent reputation within the business, public administration, and professional communities. In addition, it has a proud tradition of engaging students in case studies of regional businesses to examine market analysis and business plans.

The LaFetra College of Education

The LaFetra College of Education (LFCE) includes undergraduate programs in education as well as several masters’ degrees and a doctorate degree (Ed.D.). The LFCE develops outstanding leaders and education professionals, caring individuals who impact instruction on all scholastic levels. Operating under four guiding principles – caring, excellence, leadership, and diversity – LFCE creates exceptional learning opportunities that foster intellectual, ethical, and social responsibilities within its students, instilling the knowledge, skills, and disposition in each to imagine, explore, and design the future. It established institutes that foster dialogue in the fields of child development, educational policy, and school reform. An innovative, customized assessment program lays the foundation for LFCE’s effort to achieve National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) accreditation.

The College of Law

The College of Law (COL) is located on its own campus in Ontario, California. The COL offers a rigorous academic program for its J.D. that provides a solid foundation in legal theory, lawyering skills, analytical thinking, and ethics and professionalism – areas critical to the modern practice of law. Both curricular and co-curricular programs are structured so that a student’s legal education is grounded in the real world, preparing future lawyers to put the law to work. The College of Law has produced a substantial body of scholarship with national and global recognition. The University of La Verne Law Review holds an annual symposium, which brings law professors from across the country to the COL campus.