You are here: Home // News // ASULV announces election victors

ASULV announces election victors

David Asbra and Selyna Ybarra were elected president and executive vice president of the Associated Students of the University of La Verne, respectively Wednesday.

“I was hopeful about winning, but there was no guaranteed victory,” Asbra said. “I knew going into it that it was going to be a challenge nonetheless. It feels good to know that the students thought we were the best candidates, and it feels good to know that people care about this school.”

Asbra, who will be succeeded by Ybarra, said he will now focus on external affairs rather than internal affairs.

He plans to meet with the President monthly and is looking forward to creating more transparency between students and faculty.

“I’m pretty excited, and I have many ideas that I’m ready to get started on right away,” Ybarra said.

The elected Senators at Large are Alyssa Navarro, Jordan Almeida, Diego Chavez, Lauren Crumbaker, Megan Keller, Nicole Cuadras, Richie Orozco and Welsy Tan.

Marina Youngblood and Joseph Eggers were elected Senators of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Garrett Moberg and David Jones were elected Senators of the College of Business and Public Management.

“It’s bittersweet for me, but it’s exciting. Each new year comes with new ideas,” said current president Bethie Ross.

—Alejandra Aguilar

Be Sociable, Share!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2009 Campus Times. All rights reserved.
Designed by Theme Junkie. Powered by WordPress.