University of La Verne to Host 2013 National Debate Team Championships

March 28, 2013 by University of La Verne

La Verne Debate Team 2012

What:The 2007 National Debate Championship Team from the University of La Verne will host more than 50 colleges and universities from the United States and Canada for the 2013 British Parliamentary National Debate Tournament in April.

La Verne will be hosting the event as part of its 101st year of debate and will welcome judge and Chief Adjudicator Michael Baer, who is slated to be the first American Chief Adjudicator from the United States at the 2014 World Championships in Chennai, India.

More than 160 debate teams from schools including Harvard University, Yale University and Loyola Marymount among others will travel to La Verne for the competition.

Past La Verne world champion finalists JJ Rodriguez and Sean Krispinsky will be in attendance. All alumni, current students, faculty and staff are welcome to attend any portion of the debate competition. 

Friday, April 12, 2013
Round One 1:45 p.m.-3 p.m.
Round Two 4:15 p.m.-5:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 13, 2013
Round Three 9 a.m.-11 a.m.
Round Four 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Round Five 2:45 p.m.-4:45 p.m.
Round Six 5:30 p.m.-6:45 p.m.
Break Party 7:30 p.m. at the Sheraton Hotel in Pomona

Sunday, April 14, 2013
Quarterfinals 11 a.m.
Finals 3:15 p.m.
Awards 4:45 p.m.

All rounds open to the public. For more information visit

University of La Verne
1950 Third Street
La Verne, CA 91750

Contact: Robert Ruiz, Debate Team Advisor, 909-593-3511, ext. 4451,

For Media: Alisha Rosas, University of La Verne, Interim Public Relations Director, or 909-593-3511, ext. 4708.

Comments are closed.