Skip to main content

Our Team

We work in partnership with our residents to help them get the most out of their college experience. We accomplish this by promoting a sense of community, respect, and appreciation for diversity, individual academic success, a safe and healthy living environment, as well as leadership development and campus engagement. The staff includes, but is not limited to:

Professional Staff

Housing Operations Team

Associate Director, Housing Operations

Lisa Lester, x 4052, llester@laverne.edu

The Associate Director of Administrative Services administers the “business” and administrative functions of the departmental mission. This includes student housing contracts, marketing, room selection/assignments processes, and interfacing with campus facilities and custodial staff.

 

Assignments Coordinator

Jake Warner, x 4437, jwarner@laverne.edu

The Assignments Coordinator is responsible for managing the room selection and assignments process for the department. He is responsible for overseeing the front desk operation and interfacing with facilities and custodial on the work order requests.

 

Residence Life Team

Director of Residence Life & Student Conduct

Eugene Shang, x4052, eshang@laverne.edu

The Director of Residential Life & Student Conduct administers the social and educational function of the departmental mission. This includes the student judicial process, crisis management and student leadership development programs.

 

Residence Life Coordinator, Vista Residence Hall

Alejandra Gonzalez, x4432, agonzalez3@laverne.edu

 

The Residence Life Coordinator provides oversight and leadership for all social, community and educational functions within Vista Residence Hall. She is also a liaison with Housing Administrative Services to ensure administrative needs of the building are being addressed timely.

 

Residence Life Coordinator, Oaks

Stephen Heggem, x4678, sheggem@laverne.edu

The Residence Life Coordinator provides oversight and leadership for all social, community and educational functions within the Oaks Residence Hall. He is also a liaison with Housing Administrative Services to ensure administrative needs of the building are being addressed timely.

 

Resident Directors

The Resident Directors (RDs) are graduate level live-in staff members who serve as the primary supervisor to Resident Assistants. They oversee all educational and community oriented initiatives in the residence halls. They also work with RAs to help students in their transition to college life and/or working through community interpersonal challenges. Meet the Resident Directors:

 

Austin Welty       Brandt Hall           x4453    awelty@laverne.edu

Nau Taufalele      Stu-Han Hall        x4115    ntaufalele@laverne.edu

 

Student Staff

Assistant Housing Coordinators (AHCs)

The Assistant Housing Coordinators are responsible for assisting with the housing applications and assignments, as well as assisting with maintenance requests and key inventory. Meet the 2017-2018 AHC staff:

  • Morgan Malloy x4792
  • Brian Montejano x4792
  • Krista Perrin x4792

Resident Assistants (RAs)

Resident Assistants are live-in, student-staff members who work with residents to create a sense of community as well as healthy, living/learning environments. They provide peer counseling, act as referrals for campus resources, assisting with emergency procedures in the residence halls, enforcing University and department policies, and assist residents with roommate problems or other issues that may arise in the community.

Community Assistants (CAs)

Staff the Housing front desk and are responsible for assisting with general customer service need. This includes answering general housing questions, assisting with lock-outs, maintenance requests, posting flyers, etc.

 

If you have Federal Work Study and want to work in a fun and thriving atmosphere, we want you! For more information and to apply visit PeopleAdmin.