Bypass the primary and secondary navigation and continue reading the main body of the page
Research at La Verne

La VerneAcademy

Teaching and Research are at the core of what the University of La Verne does. Our faculty deeply value the ability to communicate their knowledge to scholars and students, and their research both strengthens that knowledge and feeds back into their teaching and creative activities.

La Verne Academy

Founded in 2006, the La Verne Academy comprises the University’s recognized leaders in research, publication, and creative activity. The purpose of the Academy is to promote and foster research and publications at the University of La Verne. Its founding charter members are Thomas R. Harvey, Jeffrey Kahan, Andrea Graubart Labinger, John Linarelli, Kenneth H. Marcus, Iraj Parchamazad, and Jonathan L. Reed. One to two new members are selected each year to join the Academy, which has since grown to more than 20 members.

Modeled on national academies in the United States and abroad, the La Verne Academy has responsibilities to the faculty and to the entire University. The Academy represents all five colleges of the university in terms of research, with each college adhering to its own standards for scholarship. In addition to electing new members, the Academy administers a series of grants to young and promising scholars at the University, and it also oversees the Faculty Lecture Series, which presents recent research by faculty. The Academy was further chartered to meet on a regular basis for members to read and critique each other’s work in progress and to hold writing seminars to assist other La Verne scholars in preparing their research for publication.


The La Verne Academy will promote and facilitate research at the University of La Verne through publications, lectures, grants, and seminars. Comprised of members of all four colleges, the Academy seeks to share its results with all members of the university community.