Skip to main content

Title IX Resource Guide

Sex Discrimination, Harassment, and Assault: University of La Verne Title IX Coordinators

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 is a federal law that prohibits sex discrimination in education.  It reads: “No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.”  –Legal Citation:  Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, and its implementing regulation at 34 C.F.R. Part 106 (Title IX).

Sex discrimination includes sexual harassment and sexual assault.  While it is often thought of as a law that applies to athletics programs, Title IX is much broader than athletics and applies to many programs at the University of La Verne.  While compliance with the law is everyone’s responsibility at the University of La Verne, listed below are the staff members who have primary responsibility for Title IX compliance. Please see the brochure titled, Sexual Misconduct: Resources for Faculty, Staff, and Students–Title IX which states the specific reporting procedures for anyone who has experienced sexual misconduct, or knows someone who has experienced sexual misconduct.

Title IX Coordinator for the University of La Verne

Title IX & Employee Relations Manager
Human Resources – Park Campus
(909) 448-4078
title9manager@laverne.edu

Duties and Responsibilities:  Monitoring and oversight of overall implementation of Title IX Compliance at the University, including coordination of training, education, communications, and administration of grievance procedures.

Title IX Deputy Coordinators

Loretta H. Rahmani, Ed.D.
Dean of Student Affairs
Abraham Campus Center – 1st Floor
(909) 448-4053 or (909) 448-4050
lrahmani@laverne.edu

Title IX Investigators

Juan Regalado
Associate Dean of Student Affairs
HRL Office – Vista La Verne
(909) 448-4448
jregalado@laverne.eduEugene Shang
Director of Residence Life & Student Conduct
HRL Office – Oaks Residence Hall
(909) 448-4963
eshang@laverne.edu

Lisa Lester
Associate Director – Housing Operations
HRL Office – Oaks Residence Hall
(909) 448-4425
llester@laverne.edu

Alejandra Gonzalez
Residence Life Coordinator s
HRL Office – Vista La Verne
(909) 448-4432
agonzalez3@laverne.eduStephem Heggem
Residence Life Coordinator
HRL Office – Oaks
(909) 448-4678
sheggem@laverne.edu