Bypass the primary and secondary navigation and continue reading the main body of the page

Spirit of La Verne Celebrated

Spirit of La Verne Awardees

Leaders, innovators, mentors, community champions and others were recognized and celebrated this week at the Spirit of La Verne Awards, which honors campus community members living out the core values represented by the Ludwick Center — spirituality, cultural understanding, and community engagement. 

Started about a decade ago, the annual recognition is sponsored by the Office of Civic and Community Engagement, Office of Religious and Spiritual Life, the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Office of International Services and Engagement, and Center for Multicultural Services.   

The following individuals were awarded this year: 


  • Naakoshi Imhotep, Legal Studies ’24 
  • Gabriel Palacios Paz, Physics ’24 
  • Nadeen Mohammad, Biology ’24 


  • Jason Neidleman, PhD – Professor, Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Veronica Esconfrey-Runnels, EdD – Associate Professor and Chair, Educational Counseling & School Psychology Program, LaFetra College of Education 

Staff / Administration 

  • Victoria Aleman – Director, ROC (Regional & Online Campuses) Ontario 
  • Brooke Grasso Lavin – Academic Advisor, College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Randa N. Jouzi, EdD – Academic Advisor, Associate Director MBA, College of Business 
  • Savanah Garcia – Director, Academic Success Center 
  • Eugene Shang – Director, Residence Life and Student Conduct