Bypass the primary and secondary navigation and continue reading the main body of the page
Dr. Pardis Mahdavi - Inauguration Banner

On October 13, 2023, Dr. Pardis Mahdavi was inaugurated as the 19th president of the University of La Verne.

Relive the Highlights from Inauguration

President Mahdavi’s transition into leading the University of La Verne as the 19th president provides an opportunity to celebrate and extend the institution’s core values, collective impact, and commitment to bridging educational excellence, equality, and innovation with the region and beyond. That’s why instead of honoring one person during the ceremony, we highlighted the transformational work of the entire university; the next generation of changemakers; strength in partnerships; and Leopard pride through community spirit.

The historic event included encouraging words of support from guest speakers, a special Indigenous drumming and saging ceremony, and entertainment provided by the university choir, Xpressions Contemporary Dance Ensemble of ULV, and Versa Style dance troupe.


Leap Into Action Community Service Pledge Campaign

Leap Into Action with the University of La Verne and make a pledge to volunteer, mentor, collect donations, or participate in other community service activities. Your participation will help bridge our communities and extend our founding values and deep commitment to creating meaningful personal, local, regional, and global impact. Our goal is to get 1,891 pledges, which signifies the historical year we became an institution.

Leap into Action

Inauguration Committee

Thomas Allison ’07, JD ’10, MPA ’14 – Assistant Professor, Legal Studies Veronica Ashcroft ’00, MS ’16– Director, University Scheduling, Events and Commencement Services Jamie K. Ayala – Director, Public and Media Relations
Eric Bishop ’88, MA ’94, EdD ’09 – Interim VP, Enrollment Management Alexandra Burrel – AVP & Chief Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Officer Shannon Capaldi, EdD ’17 – Assistant Vice President, Strategy and Implementation
Isela Chavez ’24 – President, ASULV Alison Chevalier – Athletics Administrative Manager Julissa Espinoza, MPA ’17 – Director, Community Engagement
Zuhey Espinoza – Chief Government Relations Officer Marisa George ’19 – Assistant Director of the Physical Plant Operations and Services Ashley Gustafson ’11 – Associate Director, Special Events
Stephanie Hancock ’16 – Alumni Advisory Board President Avo Kechichian ’80, MBA ’85 – Vice President, Administration & Finance, Chief Financial Officer Wendy Lau ’98 – Trustee & Advisor, College of Law and Public Service
Teresa Martinelli, MS ’07, DPA ’11 – Professor of Practice – Management Adrianne Montero-Camacho – Director of Accessibility & SOS Services Sherri Mylott, EdD ’23 – Vice President, University Advancement
Juan Regalado – Associate Vice President for Student Affairs & Dean of Students Sarah Rodman-Alvarez – Bauccio Endowed Executive Director, Randall Lewis Center for Well Being and Research and T5 LVE Activities Director Sheila Rodriguez – Associate Director, Special Events
Lucero Rojo ’11, MS ’16 – Interim Assistant Vice President for Alumni Engagement Bianca Romero ’07, MS ’10 – Executive Director, Advancement Operations and Events Oliver Unaka – Associate Vice President of Strategic Communications
Danielle Vega – Executive Assistant, President’s Office Zandra Wagoner ’89 – University Chaplain & Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Religion Adam Wong – Associate Dean, Student Engagement and Belonging