Provost Council

The Provost Council consists of the Provost, Vice Provost, Deans, and Unit Directors, as well as Faculty Senate representatives.

The Colleges

The provost works directly with the deans of the five academic units and the dean of the Regional and Online Campuses (ROC). These units include:

  • The College of Arts and Sciences: engaging students with an innovative and challenging education in the traditional disciplines of a liberal arts education, including the fine arts, humanities, natural sciences, and social sciences, as well as graduate programs in psychology.
  • The College of Business: providing students with a broad-based management education emphasizing the application of theory to management practice that builds conceptual skills and core values needed to become effective leaders and managers in today’s changing global environment.
  • The LaFetra College of Education: offering undergraduate, graduate, and credential programs that integrate theory and practical application, preparing educators and leaders with the knowledge, skills, and dispositions they need to succeed in today’s schools, organizations, and diverse communities.
  • The Cástulo de la Rocha College of Health and Community Well-Being: a hub for high-quality education, research, and innovation in health and the social determinants of health.
  • The College of Law and Public Service: immersing students in a program of study that combines substantive and applied learning while providing a values orientation that emphasizes professionalism and service to community – producing graduates who are prepared to meet the complex challenges of the modern practice of law.

Jointly, the deans of the academic units provide academic oversight for Regional and Online Campuses (ROC).

Units reporting to the Provost

In addition to the academic units, the Office of the Provost oversees the following university functions and offices:

  • Academic Support and Retention Services: supporting student success by providing services that promote degree completion through sound academic advising, comprehensive management of academic records, academic support for graduate students, and practical skills development to enhance learning. These offices work in collaboration with faculty to support the educational experience and advance completion to graduation.
  • The Center for Teaching and Learning assists the university in realizing its vision and full potential as an intentional learning organization by supporting faculty and staff, individually and collectively, to continue their rigorous and relevant ongoing development in coordination with the university’s core values and strategic initiatives.
  • The Elvin and Betty Wilson Library: serving both the La Verne campus and all regional campuses with its book and periodical collection and its virtual library, allowing students access to electronic databases with over four million full text articles.
  • Division of Student Affairs: providing programs and services to support all students in achieving their academic goals and to strengthen the traditional-age students’ personal development through co-curricular experiences. Departments serving our students include: Career Services, Commencement, Health Center, Services for Students with Disabilities, International and Study Abroad, Judicial Affairs, Leadership Education and Development, Office of Multicultural Services, Dining Services, Student Housing and Residential Education, and the Office of Student Life: Associated Students at the University of La Verne (ASULV), Campus Activities Board (CAB), Clubs and Organizations, Greek Life, New Student Orientation.
  • Athletics: offering a full range of Division III intercollegiate sports for undergraduate students.
  • Office of Research and Sponsored Programs: providing pre-award support to faculty and staff to find funding opportunities and assist with the preparation and submission of proposals for external funding, as well as providing post-award guidance and review to ensure compliance with institutional, agency and federal award regulations.
  • The Office of Religious and Spiritual Life: fostering a vibrant university community of spiritual reflection and free inquiry. The office sponsors programs that engage aspects of religion, spirituality, interfaith cooperation, ethics, and meaning, and encourages people to explore and deepen their own spirituality, develop an appreciation for religious diversity, integrate the spiritual and intellectual dimensions of life, engage in ethical reflection, and construct a vision of what they can contribute to the common good.