Skip to main content

Honors Council

The Honors Council is the official leadership body of the Honors Program. The Council is entrusted with creating program policies, handling curricular issues, and establishing the future goals of the program. The Honors Council meets no less than one time per academic semester. The Council is comprised of four faculty members to be elected by the faculty, one seat of which is reserved for the library. In addition, faculty who teach in the Honors Program will be invited by the Director of Honors to serve as voting ad hoc members of the Honors Council.

The current membership of the Honors Council is as follows:

Allyson Brantley

Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., Yale University
M.A., Yale University
B.A., University of Notre Dame

Joseph Cabrera

Associate Professor of Sociology
Chair, Sociology and Criminology Program
Ph.D., University of Arizona
M.A., University of Arizona
M.U.P, CUNY, Hunter College
B.S., University of California, Irvine

Andrés Espinoza Agurto

Assistant Professor of Music
Ph.D., Boston University
M.A., University of York
B.A., Berklee College of Music

Ann Hills

Associate Professor of Spanish
Chair, Modern Languages
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
M.A., University of California, Los Angeles
B.A., California State University, Northridge

Judy Holiday

Associate Professor of Writing
Ph.D., Arizona State University
M.A., California State University, San Bernardino
B.A., University of Delaware

Gerard Lavatori

Professor of French
Chair, French Program
Ph.D., Brown University
M.A., Brown University
B.A., Boston College

Elaine Padilla

Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religion
Ph.D., Drew University
M.A., Regent University
B.A., University of Florida

Laurie Rodrigues

Assistant Professor of English
Ph.D., University of Rhode Island
M.A., Boston College
B.A., Worcester State College

Robert Ruiz

Director of Forensics
Instructor, Speech Communication
Ph.D., University of La Verne
M.A., University of La Verne
B.A., University of La Verne

Dane Sawyer

Senior Adjunct of Religion and Philosophy
Ph.D., Claremont Graduate University
M.A., Claremont School of Theology
B.A., University of La Verne

Honors Scholarship and Study Abroad Adviser

In addition to the Honors Council, also available to students is the Honors Scholarship and Study Abroad Faculty Adviser (HSSAFA). The HSSAFA is available to students to coordinate and direct, in consolation with the Honors Program Director, the daily operation of all nationally competitive scholarship/fellowship and study abroad opportunities. Furthermore, the HSSAFA is here to advise Honors students regarding opportunities and help with the application process.

Al Clark

Honors Scholarship and Study Abroad Faculty Adviser
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
M.A., University of California, Berkeley
B.A., California State Polytechnic University, Pomona